God still speaks

Cover of "The Battle Is Not Yours"

Cover of The Battle Is Not Yours

God still speaks

The last couple of days, all those negative thoughts and feelings that I have been trying so hard to change, have been lambasting my mind and emotions, like a tsunami hitting the coastline.  And I keep wondering why.  Why is a very dangerous question sometimes, because it makes you look for answers that just aren’t there.  People across the globe suffer from anxiety – in fact, according to my post yesterday (courtesy of Discovery Health), one in 75 people suffer from a panic disorder.  That is extremely high.  I mean think about it – in my office of 150 people, that means there is at least one other person here, in this building, who battles with this as I do.  That is so comforting to me – to know I am not alone.  And in a high school (when most panic and anxiety disorders start) of about 1 000 scholars, at least 14 pupils will battle with this issue and take it with them into adulthood.

Why?

Well, very simply, I think that our society is moving just too fast.  There is too much knowledge, too much media attention, too many ways to do things – we have forgotten and our young kids have not even learnt how to just be.

Anyway, I digress, because God still speaks.

So this morning I am feeling so frustrated because surely I should be past all this, I have worked so hard and still this negativity is hounding me and I am thinking of going of Paxil, but after how I have been feeling the last couple of days, clearly this isn’t a good idea…

…then I get this reading…

When You Feel Down (1)

‘…We will stand in Your presence…cry out to You…and You will hear us and save us.’  2 Chronicles 20:9 NIV

A parishioner asked his pastor, ‘Do you ever feel down?’  ‘Sure,’ he responded.  ‘What do you do about it?’ the parishioner said.  ‘I get up again.  Being down isn’t my problem – staying down is.  I’m either up, or I’m getting up.  I’ve learned not to park in between.’  Although feeling down is universal, sociologists warn us to guard against its two most common causes: fear and fatigue.  Let’s look at them:Fear: When Edomite armies marched against Israel’s king, fear gripped him and his nation.  Feeling powerless, they feared losing their God-given land and possessions.  If the stress of the last few years has left you feeling fearful, do what Judah’s king did.  He turned to God and prayed: ‘Whenever we are faced with any calamity…we can…stand in Your presence…We can cry out to You…and You will hear us and rescue us.’  (2 Chronicles 20:9 NLT) Don’t let fear cause you to abandon your hope and your vision.  Instead, stand in God’s presence, cry out to Him and watch Him rescue you.  Throughout the Old Testament, God reminded His people of His track record of goodness.  He wanted them to remember it and take courage.  But sometimes fear would cloud their memory and they’d begin to doubt.  Sound familiar?  So He told them, ‘Do not be…discouraged…the battle is not yours, but [Mine].’  (2 Chronicles 20:15 NIV) In other words, ‘You don’t have to defeat the foe, that’s My job.  I’m in charge; trust Me to work it out.’  So remember Who’s in control of your circumstances today.  Stand in His presence, believe His promise!

http://www.thewordfortoday.com.au/

I mean, wow.  When the stress of the last few years has left you feeling fearful… Um, yeah…  Don’t let fear cause you to abandon your hope and your vision.  Okay, Lord, I hear you.  But sometimes fear would cloud their memory and they’d begin to doubt…  Yeah, that sounds about right – especially over the last few days.  The battle is not yours, but [Mine].’  (2 Chronicles 20:15 NIV)  Okay, Lord, this is in your hands.

2 Chronicles 20:15

New International Version (NIV)

15 He said: “Listen, King Jehoshaphat and all who live in Judah and Jerusalem!  This is what the Lord says to you: ‘Do not be afraid or discouraged because of this vast army.  For the battle is not yours, but God’s.

And now I am feeling much better – we can’t forget where our grace and strength comes from.  And my only goal in this world is to be a good wife to my husband and a good mother to my daughter – and I pray for the grace and the strength to do just that.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About anxiousmotherhood

I have found becoming a mother has filled me with such anxiety on a deep and very insecure level. I hope this blog will help me gain my sense of calm, security and peace...

Leave a Reply

